“I have received the CHOOSEMATHS grant
a couple of times [to attend] different AMSI events.
It helped me to decide to do a PhD degree in mathematics.”

Xuemei Liu, University of South Australia

Timetable

Attendance is expected at all scheduled events listed below. To find out more about the program being offered, please visit the courses and lecturers page.

Please note: Timetable draft as at 11 September – subject to change at any time

Key

Group A
Differential Geometry and Symmetry
Dr Romina Arroyo & Dr Ramiro Lafuente
Group A
Effective Teaching, Effective Learning in Quantitative Disciplines
Associate Professor Katherine Seaton
Group B
The Finite Element Method
Dr Bishnu Lamichhane
Group B
Random Fields: Mathematical Theory and Spatial Statistics Applications
Associate Professor Andriy Olenko
Group C
Geometric Group Theory
Dr Alejandra Garrido Angulo, Associate Professor Murray Elder & Dr Lawrence Reeves
Group C
Dynamic Processes Spreading on Networks
Dr Joel Miller
Group D
Markov Chains with Applications
Professor Malwina Luczak
Group D
Applied Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
Professor Philip Broadbridge & Dr Dimetrre Triadis
TimeTable (Week 1)
Monday | 6 January Tuesday | 7 January Wednesday | 8 January Thursday | 9 January Friday | 10 January Saturday | 11 January
8.00 am – 9.00 am Registration Optional Excursion
9.00 am – 10.00 am Opening Ceremony Group A Group B Group C Group B
10.00 am – 11.00 am
11.00 am – 11.30 am Break Break Break Break
11.30 am – 12.30 pm Campus Tour Group B Group C Group D Group A
12.30 pm – 1.30 pm Lunch Bi-weekly BBQ Lunch Lunch Lunch
1.30 pm – 2.00 pm
2.00 pm – 3.00 pm Group C Group B Group C Group D Group A
3.00 pm – 4.00 pm
4.00 pm – 5.00 pm Group A Group D Group D
5.00 pm – 6.00 pm
6.00 pm – 6.30 pm Movie Night
6.30 pm – 8.30 pm
TimeTable (Week 2)
Monday | 13 January Tuesday | 14 January Wednesday | 15 January Thursday | 16 January Friday | 17 January Saturday | 18 January
8.00 am – 9.00 am Optional Excursion
9.00 am – 10.00 am Group D Group A Group B Group C Group B
10.00 am – 11.00 am
11.00 am – 11.30 am Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea
11.30 am – 12.30 pm Group C Group B Group D Group D Group A
12.30 pm – 1.30 pm Lunch Bi-weekly lunch Lunch Lunch Lunch
1.30 pm – 2.00 pm
2.00 pm – 3.00 pm Group C Group B Group D Group D Group A
3.00 pm – 4.00 pm
4.00 pm – 5.00 pm Group A Group C Group A
5.00 pm – 6.00 pm
6.00 pm – 6.30 pm Movie Night
6.30 pm – 8.30 pm
TimeTable (Week 3)
Monday | 20 January Tuesday | 21 January Wednesday | 22 January Thursday | 23 January Friday | 24 January Saturday | 25 January
8.00 am – 9.00 am
9.00 am – 10.00 am Group D Group A Group A Group C Group B
10.00 am – 11.00 am Group B
11.00 am – 11.30 am Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea
11.30 am – 12.30 pm Group D Group B Career Event Group D Group B
12.30 pm – 1.30 pm Lunch Bi-weekly BBQ Lunch Lunch
1.30 pm – 2.00 pm
2.00 pm – 3.00 pm Group C Group B Group D Group A
3.00 pm – 4.00 pm
4.00 pm – 5.00 pm Group A Group C Group C Group B
5.00 pm – 6.00 pm Group D
6.00 pm – 6.30 pm
6.30 pm – 8.30 pm Movie Night
TimeTable (Week 4)
Monday | 27 January Tuesday | 28 January Wednesday | 29 January Thursday | 30 January Friday | 31 January Saturday | 1 February
8.00 am – 9.00 am Australia Day Public Holiday
9.00 am – 10.00 am Group A Group B Group C Group D
10.00 am – 11.00 am
11.00 am – 11.30 am Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea Morning Tea
11.30 am – 12.30 pm Group B Group A Group C Group D
12.30 pm – 1.30 pm Lunch Bi-weekly Picnic Lunch Lunch
1.30 pm – 2.00 pm
2.00 pm – 3.00 pm Group B Group C Group A
3.00 pm – 4.00 pm
4.00 pm – 5.00 pm Group C Group D Group D
5.00 pm – 6.00 pm
6.00 pm – 6.30 pm Public Lecture
6.30 pm – 7.00 pm Closing Dinner
7.00 pm – 9.00 pm
9.00 pm – 10.00 pm