“Attending AMSI Summer School was a golden opportunity to gain knowledge and broaden networking. It enhanced my knowledge and improved my skills which will support my career as a statistician.”

Abdul Hadi Asfarangga, The University of Adelaide

The biggest national maths event in Australia for honours and postgraduate students

Launched in 2003, AMSI Summer School is the biggest annual national training and networking event in Australia for honours and postgraduate students in the mathematical sciences.

During the four-week school, participants tackle one or two intensive subjects chosen from nine on offer by specialist lecturers in pure and applied mathematics, statistics and cognate disciplines. With permission from their home university they can sit one subject for credit towards their degree.

While primarily for honours and postgraduate students in the mathematics, statistics, data science and cognate disciplines, the School also attracts early career researchers and industry professionals looking to upskill.

In 2024, Summer School returns to a four-week in person event hosted by the Australian National University from 8 January – 2 February (virtual participation also available). Participants increase their breadth of knowledge, build professional networks and get exposure to the various career opportunities open to mathematics graduates.



Become a Sponsor

Increase your exposure and gain brand awareness while connecting with Australia’s future workforce.
Partner with AMSI Summer School and support the future of the mathematical sciences in Australia.


2024 Standing Committee

  • Associate Professor Po-Lam Yung, Australian National University (Chair, Co-Event Director)
  • Dr Vigleik Angeltveit, Australian National University (Co-Event Director)
  • Dr Robyn Araujo, Queensland University of Technology
  • Angela Coughlin, AMSI
  • Professor Anthony Dooley, University of Technology Sydney
  • Professor Murray Elder, University of Technology Sydney
  • Dr Ivan Guo, Monash University
  • Associate Professor Bronwyn Hajek, The University of South Australia
  • Professor Mark Holmes, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Galina Levitina, Australian National University
  • Professor Tim Marchant, AMSI
  • Darla Trejo, AMSI (Secretariat)

2024 Local Organising Committee

  • Associate Professor Po-Lam Yung, ANU
  • Dr Vigleik Angeltveit, ANU
  • Mandy Gordon, ANU
  • Cecilia Zhang, ANU
  • Angela Coughlin, AMSI
  • Darla Trejo, AMSI